Skip to content ↓

Striving for




9 Protected Characteristics

It is important that all children gain an understanding of the world they are growing up in, and learn how to live alongside, and show respect for, a diverse range of people. 

We work to ensure that our children understand that:

Everyone is different 

Everyone is unique

We celebrate our differences  

We are all equal in our differences 


The Equality Act became law in 2010.  Everyone in Britain is protected from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. This is because the Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics that we all have. Under the Equality Act, there are nine Protected characteristics.